The (Meme) Monkey House

SS‘s new meme entry by Pics by Peep introduced me PicMonkey. I had some flower fun with it as you can see… I have been aware of PicMonkey, but I have been happily using Pixlr Express which is very easy to use, very stylish and sleek and have no ads. Pixlr Express has great adjustment tools, nice overlays and effects and HUGE collection on frames and stuff.

dearoldhouse_001

dearoldhouse_002

summercottage_003

I deleted my old house (or not deleted, took back to inventory) and bought a new one from Designer Prims closing sale. This summer cottage has texture change menu, you can change inside/outside walls, floor and windows and the house was only 50 L$.

***

After I tested PicMonkey, I decided to do my own very quick and dirty introduction about Pixlr Express. It is rather boring without voice/music, but I did not wanted to make voice narration in english and my finnish voice over was full of  coughing and other weird noises 😀 At the same time, this is also a introduction to Camtasia Studio. I have Adobe Premiere also, but editing machinima or creating tutorials like this (usually with voice;)) CS is much more quicker to use. Trial version 30 days, pricing reasonable. So my answers to SS’s teach me meme are more like tips, not a lessons:

  1. If you want adfree online editing without any money, try out polished looking Pixlr Express – it is so easy you don’t even need any tutorials for that.
  2. If you want to make good looking tutorials or edit machinima, use Camtasia Studio.
  3. If you want to make a SL-machinima, buy 3D mouse/space navigator, film your raw material with Fraps and edit/produce it with Camtasia. And plan and practise before filming! Every pose, every movement, every camera angle…

One thought on “The (Meme) Monkey House

  1. Oh, thanks for the tutorial! I looked at Pixlr Express when Picnik shut down (which is when I moved over to Picmonkey). I’m not a fan of the scrolling interface, but I see from your video it has a lot of potential. I may have to add this to my repertoire 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

